Jury President and Jury

The 10th Asian Film Awards – Jury President

Dr. Kei-Fung, Johnnie TO Hong Kong
Director, Producer

Johnnie To Kei-Fung began his career in television in 1974 before directing his feature film debut The Enigmatic Case in 1979. Over the years, he has directed over 50 films and produced over 70 films in a variety of genres, many of which are regarded as milestones in the history of Chinese cinema.

In 1996, To established the production company Milkyway Image, with which he directed and produced a series of daring and innovative films such as The Longest Nite (1998), Expect The Unexpected (1998), Running Out Of Time (1999), The Mission (1999), Election (2005), Vengeance (2009) and Drug War (2012) amongst others.

To has been named Best Director three times each at Taiwan’s Golden Horse Awards, the Golden Bauhinia Awards and the Hong Kong Film Awards. He has received numerous nominations and commendations from film festivals in the Asia-Pacific, Europe and the US, including nominations for the Golden Lion in Venice, Palme d’Or in Cannes and the Golden Bear in Berlin.

To was awarded the French Order of Arts and Letters by the Ministry of Culture of France, the Medal of Honor by the Hong Kong SAR Government, an Honorary Doctorate by the Hong Kong Academy of Performing Arts and the degree of Doctor of Letters, honoris causa at Hong Kong Baptist University. To also received lifetime achievement awards at the Locarno and Udine film festivals. He served as a juror at major film festivals including Cannes and Venice.

In 2004, To was appointed to the Hong Kong Arts Development Council and soon after chaired its Film and Media Arts Group. In 2005, he initiated the Fresh Wave Short Film Competition, which in 2010 evolved into an international short film festival, further fostering cultural exchange among international filmmakers. In 2014, To was appointed Vice Chairman of the Hong Kong International Film Festival Society.

The 10th Asian Film Awards – Celebrity Jury

Ms. GAO Yuanyuan Mainland China

Gao Yuanyuan began her career as a commercial model in 1996 and rose to become an important actress with critical acclaim and popular success. She made her screen debut in Spicy Love Soup (dir. Zhang Yang, 1997) and has since starred in films by internationally renowned directors including Chen Kaige (Caught in the Web, 2012), Lu Chuan (City of Life and Death, 2009), Johnnie To (Don’t Go Breaking My Heart, 2011, Blind Detective, 2013) and Wang Xiaoshuai (Beijing Bicycle, 2001, Shanghai Dreams, 2005) amongst others. Her healthy and fresh image has left deep impression on her audiences and is beloved by many.


Mr. Sean Ching-wan LAU Hong Kong

Sean Lau Ching-wan has acted in over 90 films and over 30 TV series in his more than 30 year career. He is recognized as one of the most versatile and beloved leading men in Chinese cinema. He has received several prestigious acting awards, including the Golden Horse Awards, the Chinese Film Media Awards, the Golden Bauhinia Awards and the Hong Kong Film Awards. He has worked with renowned directors including Mabel Cheung (A Tale of Three Cites, 2015), Tsui Hark (Tri-Star, 1996), Johnnie To (Where a Good Man Goes, 1999, Life Without Principle, 2011) and Derek Yee (C’est la vie, mon chéri, 1993, Lost in Time, 2003) amongst many others.

The 10th Asian Film Awards – Jury

Prof. Kohei ANDO Japan
Programming Advisor, Tokyo International Film Festival

Ando Kohei is a filmmaker and Professor Emeritus of Waseda University. His works were awarded at many international film festivals in France, Hawaii, Tokyo and etc. and be collected by museums of many countries.


Mr. Ronald ARGUELLES Philippines
Channel Head, Cinema One

Ronald Arguelles heads the top cable channel Cinema One in the Philippines which shows the country’s classic and new blockbuster films. He is the festival director of Cinema One Originals Festival and has produced 100 movies creating a refreshing landscape and original vision of Contemporary Philippine Cinema.


Mr. Alberto BARBERA Italy
Director, Venice Film Festival and the National Film Museum of Turin

Alberto Barbera was General Secretary of the Italian Association of Art Film Theaters and Director of the Turin Film Festival. He has been a film critic in print, television and radio, and has edited several books on major film directors.


Mr. Chris FUJIWARA Japan
Independent Film Critic and Programmer

Chris Fujiwara has written books on Jacques Tourneur, Otto Preminger and Jerry Lewis, and was Editor of the film criticism magazine of FIPRESCI. A lecturer and programmer, he was Artistic Director of the Edinburgh International Film Festival.


Ms. Jeane HUANG Taiwan
Executive Director, Urban Nomad International Film Festival (Taiwan)

Jeane Huang is Founding President of Core Cultural Management and a published writer. She has held key positions in Taiwan’s arts and film fields, including Director of the Taipei Film Festival and Editor-in-Chief of Taiwan Cinema magazine of the Taiwan National Cultural Association and the Chief Consultant of the International Art Festival, National Performing Arts Center (CKS Cultural Center).


Ms. Moonyung HUH South Korea
Programmer, Busan Cinema Center

Huh Moon-yung is a film critic and read anthropology at the Seoul National University. He was Editor-in-Chief of film magazine CINE21 and Progammer of Busan International Film Festival.


Mr. Kenji ISHIZAKA Japan
Programming Director, Tokyo International Film Festival

Ishizaka Kenji is a film critic. He was Film Coordinator at the Japan Foundation and serves as Professor at the Japan Institute of the Moving Image, aka the Imamura Shohei Film School.


Mr. Christian JEUNE France
Film Department Director / Deputy to the General Delegate, Cannes International Film Festival

Christian Jeune has been with Festival de Cannes for 20 years and scouts films for the festival’s Official Selection. He has served on many international film festival juries and has translated over 100 English films into French.


Mr. Ji-seok KIM South Korea
Program Director, Busan International Film Festival

Kim Ji-seok has made substantial contribution to the introduction of new Asian film talents. He is in charge of the Busan International Film Festival’s A Window on Asian Cinema and New Currents programs, in which internationally acclaimed and emerging Asian filmmakers are presented.


Mr. Cheuk To LI Hong Kong
Artistic Director, Hong Kong International Film Festival Society

Li Cheuk-to has served on juries at Berlin, Rotterdam and others. He is a founding member of the Hong Kong Film Critics Society and was President from 1995 to 1999. He was Editor-in-Chief of Film Biweekly and has also written for major film journals such as Sight and Sound and Film Comment.


Mr. Clarence TSUI Hong Kong
Senior Film Reviewer, The Hollywood Reporter

Clarence Tsui is a film critic and teaches film and journalism at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He has served on juries at Cannes, Berlin, Rotterdam, Nantes and Cinéma du Réel in Paris. He was a political correspondent and feature writer for the South China Morning Post and other Hong Kong publications before joining THR in 2012.


Ms. Yan Yan WU Mainland China
Director of China Film Foundation -WuTianMing film found for young talents
CEO of Bright East Films

Janet Wu Yanyan has been working on feature films, TV series and co-production projects in China and the US, many of which had box office success and recognition at major international film festivals. She has also been Producer for Bright East Entertainment Inc. and Dream Garden Pictures Inc.